Home / About APS / APS Governance / Leadership Elections

On January 10, 2023, we invite you to attend a virtual town hall event to learn more about the 2023 slate of American Physiological Society (APS) Council candidates. APS President Dee Silverthorn, PhD, FAPS, FAAA, FAAAS, and APS Immediate Past President Jennifer Pollock, PhD, FAPS, FAHA, will introduce each candidate.

The APS Council is critical in guiding the strategic initiatives and direction of the Society. As an APS member, one of your most important duties is to vote to select who you want to fill the roles of President-elect and Councilor. Don’t miss your opportunity to engage with these leading scientists and learn about what they can bring to the Society in a leadership position. 

Following a brief introduction from each candidate, we will open the floor for community engagement in a live Q&A session, so come with your questions. We hope this town hall meeting will help solidify your candidate selections when you receive your official ballot in early January.

Watch the Town Hall On-demand

President-elect Nominees


Tim Musch 130x130Timothy Musch, PhD, FAPS, FACSM
University Distinguished Professor 
Departments of Kinesiology, Anatomy & Physiology Kansas State University

Rudy Ortiz 130x130Rudy Ortiz, PhD, FAPS
Professor of Physiology and Endocrinology
University of California, Merced

Councilor Nominees

Michael Caplan 130x130Michael Caplan, MD, PhD, FAPS
C.N.H. Long Professor Cellular and Molecular Physiology and Professor of Cell Biology; Chair, Department of Cellular and Molecular Physiology
Yale School of Medicine, New Haven, Connecticut

Karla Haack 130x130Karla Haack, PhD
Associate Medical Writer
Merck & Co., Inc., Atlanta

My Helms 130x130My Helms, PhD
Associate Professor, Internal Medicine
University of Utah School of Medicine

Matthew Hodges 130x130Matthew Hodges, PhD, FAPS
Professor of Physiology
Medical College of Wisconsin

Beth McCormick 130x130Beth McCormick, PhD
Professor and Vice Chair, Department of Microbiology and Physiological Systems
University of Massachusetts Medical School

Gina Yosten 130x130Gina Yosten, PhD
Associate Professor of Pharmacological and Physiological Sciences
Saint Louis University School of Medicine