

Message from Endocrinology and Metabolism Section Chair

Dear Members,

Hola!

First and foremost, it is a true honor to serve as your Chair of the Endocrinology and Metabolism Section. I want to thank former Section Chair Damian Romero for his great leadership over the past three years; his passion for serving is truly contagious. Muchas gracias!

I want also to welcome our new members and our new steering committee. I am excited to build together our legacy to APS, a society we all love and respect. It is the time to give back.

Finally, get pumped for the American Physiology Summit 2024 (APS 2024). I would love to meet you in person! Please stop by our several scientific activities, get inspired in our trainee breakfast, and start building those long-lasting relationships that will fuel your tank for the long run.



Dr. Licy Yanes Cardozo, Chair, APS Endocrinology and Metabolism section

LONG BEACH

Submit abstract

here

Thankful to serve, Licy L. Yanes Cardozo, MD

Highlight your excellent science at APS 2024

Explore the science behind the biggest issues impacting life and health today and make connections that will last a lifetime at the <u>2024 American Physiology Summit</u> (#APS2024).



Jeffrey Tessem, Ph.D, E&M Program Working Group Representative

Don't miss this outstanding opportunity to highlight your best science. Submit your abstract today, before

the deadline of November 3, 2023. Follow the <u>link</u> to find all the information regarding abstract submission and <u>topic categories</u>.

Stay tuned for additional opportunities to connect with your section colleagues in Long Beach, California, and to make the most of your experience.

Don't hesitate to reach out to us if you have any questions about abstracts and awards for APS 2024. Together, let's make sure our section is well represented at APS 2024. I hope to see you there!



Awards deadline is fast approaching

The deadline for award application submissions is fast approaching. All <u>E&M section award</u> applications are due November 10, 2023.



Liz Simon, Ph.D.
E&M Awards Committee
Chair

Information for our E&M section's awards (<u>New Investigator Award</u>, <u>Research Recognition Awards</u>, and <u>Virendra Mahesh Award for Excellence in Endocrinology</u>) can be found following this link.

Trainees and postdocs are eligible for the Research Recognition Awards and the Virendra Mahesh Award for Excellence in Endocrinology, while earlycareer investigators are eligible for the New Investigator Award.

Please remember that to apply to the "Endocrinology & Metabolism Section Research Recognition Awards" and the "Virendra B. Mahesh Award of Excellence in Endocrinology & Metabolism" you need to submit your abstract to one of the Endocrinology & Metabolism Section topic categories. Don't miss this opportunity to be recognized for your outstanding scientific achievements.

Congratulations to Endocrinology and Metabolism Section Awardees



Patricia E. Molina, M.D., Ph.D., FAPS. Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center

2023 Solomon A. Berson Distinguished Lectureship of the Endocrinology & Metabolism Section

Patricia E. Molina, MD, PhD is the Richard Ashman, PhD Professor and Department Head of Physiology and Director of the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Center of Excellence (ADACE) at Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center - New Orleans (LSUHSC-NO). Using preclinical and clinical longitudinal studies, her research focuses on the impact of alcohol and drugs of abuse on risk of behavioral and metabolic comorbidities associated with HIV/AIDS.

Dr. Molina's research is currently funded by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) and the National Institute of Drug Abuse (NIDA) of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Dr. Molina is Principal Investigator and Director of the NIH-funded P60 Comprehensive

Alcohol-HIV/AIDS Research Center (CARC), T32 Biomedical Research Training Program, and T35 Medical Student Alcohol Research Internship, and Co-PI of the R25 Enhancing Neuroscience Diversity through Undergraduate Research Education Experiences (ENDURE) Program. Dr. Molina is strongly dedicated to teaching and mentoring. She actively participates in the Physiology courses at LSUHSC and is the author of the Lange monographic series Endocrine Physiology. She has mentored over forty graduate and medical students, postdoctoral fellows, clinical fellows, and early career investigators.

Dr. Molina was the first Hispanic female to serve as President of the American Physiological Society (APS). She served as President of the Association of Chairs of Department of Physiology in 2019 and currently serves as President of the Research Society on Alcoholism and Chair of the National Hispanic Science Network on Drug Abuse.





2023 Endocrinology and Metabolism Sec tion New Investigator Award Rachel J. Perry, Ph.D. Yale University School of Medicine



Evelyn A. Bates

University of

Kentucky

Jennifer J. Gardner University of North Texas Health Science Center



Lucie D. Desmoulins

Tulane University

Zachary A. Kipp University of Kentucky



Metabolism

Jessica L. Bradshaw,
Ph.D. University of
North Texas Health
Science Center

2023 Steven M.

2023 Virendra B. Mahesh Award of

Endocrinology and

Excellence in



Wang-Hsin Lee University of Kentucky



Ammar E. Mahmmod Saint Louis University



2023 Research Recognition

Horvath Professional
Opportunity Award
Bridget Konadu.
University of Mississippi
Medical Center



Genesee MartinezUniversity of
Kentucky



Huifei S. Zheng Auburn University



Award

Amany Alowaisi -University of Iowa







Steering Committee

Chair

Licy L. Yanes Cardozo, M.D.
University of Mississippi Medical Center

lyanes@umc.edu

Past Chair

Damian Romero, Ph.D.

University of Mississippi Medical Center

dromero@umc.edu

Secretary-Treasurer

Samar Rezq, Ph.D.

University of Mississippi Medical Center

srezq@umc.edu

Program Working Group Representative

Jeffrey Tessem, Ph.D.

Brigham Young University

jeffery_tessem@byu.edu

Awards Committee Chair

Liz Simon, Ph.D., Ph.D.

Louisiana State University Health Sciences

Center-New Orleans

lsimo2@lsuhsc.edu

Committee on Committees Representative

Weiqin Chen, Ph.D.

Augusta University

wechen@augusta.edu

Trainee Advisory Committee Representative

Porter Fellow

Mareena Pitts

Morehouse School of Medicine

mpitts@msm.edu

Advocacy Committee Representative Joseph Brozinick, Ph.D.

Eli Lilly

brozinick_joseph_t@lilly.com

Liaison with Physiologists in Industry

Committee

Danielle Greenberg, Ph.D.

NutriSci Inc.

dg403@caa.columbia.edu

Councilor

Danielle Levitt, Ph.D.

Texas Tech University

Danielle.Levitt@ttu.edu

Councilor

Chad Paton, Ph.D.

University of Georgia

cpaton@uga.edu

FAPS Representative

Barbara Hansen, Ph.D., FAPS

University of South Florida

bchansen@usf.edu

AJP-E&M Editor in Chief

Ana Domingos, Ph.D.

University of Oxford

ana.domingos@dpag.ox.ac.uk

Porter Fellow

Dora Mendez

University of California-Merced

dmendez23@ucmerced.edu