APS Launches Taskforce on Sexual Harassment

In 2018, the National Academies of Science, Engineering and Medicine (NASEM) issued a milestone report, *Sexual Harassment of Women: Climate, Culture, and Consequences in Academic Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.* This report found that sexual harassment in many forms is widespread in academic science and that it takes a significant toll on the careers of women. It also found that people of color and LGBTQ individuals experience higher rates of harassment and workplace discrimination.

At its fall 2018 meeting, the APS Council approved the creation of a Taskforce on Sexual Harassment to recommend actions APS can take to address sexual harassment and to ensure that our culture is one where everyone is treated equally and with dignity and respect. Taskforce members include a representative of the Council and two members of each of the following committees:

- Porter Physiology Development and Minority Affairs
- Science Policy
- Trainee Advisory
- Women in Physiology

This fall, a call went out to the membership at-large to volunteer to either serve on the taskforce or provide input on its activities. The response was robust: More than 60 APS members expressed interest in working on this effort. Members of the taskforce were selected to ensure broad participation in terms of diverse backgrounds, career levels, section representation, and geographic area. We are pleased to announce the taskforce membership:

Co-Chairs

- TanYa Gwathmey-Williams, Wake Forest University School of Medicine
- Victor Convertino, U.S. Army Institute of Surgical Research

Members

- Katherine Blackmore, George Washington University, School of Medicine and Health Sciences
- Elisa Gonzalez-Rothi, University of Florida
- Timothy Musch, Kansas State University
- Matthew Pamenter, University of Ottawa
- Jennifer Pluznick, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
- Maura Porta, Midwestern University
- Alicia Schiller, University of Nebraska Medical Center
- Annabell Segarra, University of Puerto Rico School of Medicine
- Gary Sieck, Mayo Clinic
- Ashley Stewart, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
- Annelyn Torres-Reveron, University of Texas at Rio Grande Valley Medical School
- Christopher Wilson, Loma Linda University
- Lila Wolman, University of Florida

Over the next several months, the Taskforce will develop recommendations for Council about shaping future APS policies with respect to membership, conferences and awards. It will also suggest ways to improve diversity and inclusion, support civility and combat bullying within a scientific context. Taskforce members are expected to report their recommendations to Council later this year.

Brooke Bruthers, director of education and member communities, and Rebecca Osthus, associate director for government relations and science policy, are the APS staff liaisons to the Taskforce. If you would like more information, please contact Rebecca Osthus at *rosthus@ the-aps.org* or Brooke Bruthers at *bbruthers@the-aps.org*.