We’re counting down the days to the American Physiological Society’s (APS) new world class meeting launching in 2023. Led by a diverse team of APS members, we’ve spent more than 450 hours creating an innovative, unmissable annual event for those working, learning and teaching in the biomedical sciences. 

Our new plan includes:

  • expanding multidisciplinary, cross-sectional programming;
  • hosting new game-changer and foundational sessions; and
  • designing spaces that invigorate and inspire attendees, while bringing the community together to connect.

In February 2021, Society leaders held a virtual town hall with live Q&A to share our progress and give you a first look at the new meeting.


To assist in the development of our new annual meeting, the Society has assembled the Team 2023 Task Force—a group of APS member-leaders who represent the full scope of the organization, from early-career trainees and young professionals, to section, interest group, committee and Council representatives. The team members are listed below.

Linda AllenLinda Allen
American Physiological Society

Kirsteen BrowningKirsteen Browning, PhD
Penn State College of Medicine

Meeghan De CagnaMeeghan De Cagna, MSc, CAE
American Physiological Society

Melinda EngevikMelinda Engevik, PhD
Baylor College of Medicine

David GuttermanDavid Gutterman, MD, FAPS 
Medical College of Wisconsin

Haack BW 200x200Karla Haack, PhD
Kennesaw State University

Meredith-Hay,-2019-2020Meredith Hay, PhD
University of Arizona

Robert HesterRobert Hester, PhD, FAPS
University of Mississippi Medical Center

Scott KirktonScott Kirkton, PhD
Union College

Ron LynchRon Lynch, PhD, FAPS
University of Arizona Health Science Center

Pluznick BW 200x200Jennifer Pluznick, PhD
Johns Hopkins Medical School

Jennifer PollockJennifer Pollock, PhD, FAPS
University of Alabama

Linda Samuelson B&WLinda Samuelson, PhD, FAPS
University of Michigan

Jeff-Michael-Sands,-2018-2019Jeff Sands, MD, FAPS
Emory University

Dee Silverthorn portraitDee Silverthorn, PhD, FAPS
University of Texas

Scott Steen Headshot BWScott Steen, CAE, FASAE
American Physiological Society

Miguel ZarateMiguel Zarate, PhD, DVM
University of Colorado Denver

Related Links

We hope you'll join us for what promises to be a great meeting in 2023!

We want to hear from you. Email us your session, speaker or other meeting ideas.