Home / Professional Development / Awards / Researchers / Beverly Petterson Bishop Award for Excellence in Neuroscience
Award Description

The Beverly Petterson Bishop Award recognizes excellence in neuroscience and neurophysiology research. The award is presented annually to an investigator who holds an academic rank no higher than assistant professor, demonstrating outstanding promise based on their program in neuroscience and/ or neurophysiology research. The awardee receives a $20,000 honorarium designated for use in their research program, but does not include any indirect cost reimbursement. The awardee must attend the American Physiology Summit in order to receive the award. 

The award is announced during the APS Awards Meeting held during the APS annual meeting. The recipient receives:

  • complimentary registration to attend the American Physiology Summit; and
  • a certificate recognizing his/her designation as a Beverly Petterson Bishop Awardee.

Applications are accepted from APS members in good standing who are performing neuroscience research.

  • Applicant must be an APS member in good standing for a minimum of three (3) consecutive years at the time of application  
  • Must hold a rank no higher than assistant professor
  • U.S. residency is not required
  • description of current and future research program;
  • description of outstanding promise based on the research in the field of neuroscience;
  • NIH-style biosketch;
  • list of any other current or pending grant support not included in biosketch;
  • copy of first or last-author abstract(s) submitted for presentation at the APS annual meeting at EB;
  • a letter of recommendation from department chair, administrator or mentor; and
  • Two (2) letters of support discussing the impact of the applicant's research in the field of neuroscience. At least one (1) of these letters should be from an individual the applicant hasn't worked with.

The selection committee is comprised of representatives from the Central Nervous System (CNS) and Neural Control and Autonomic Regulation (NCAR) sections. 

Applications are only accepted via online submission.



Award at a Glance

Award amount: $20,000   

Application deadline: December 16

Questions? Contact: Member Communities Department

Who Can Apply: Must be an APS member for a minimum of three (3) consecutive years at the time of application and investigator who holds an academic rank no higher than assistant professor. 

Past Awardees