Recognizing Excellence in Physiology 

Hear from this year’s slate of American Physiological Society (APS) major award winners and distinguished lecturers. As leaders in their respective fields, we recognize these inspiring speakers for their exceptional contributions and lifelong dedication to research. Location, date and time of the presentations are available in the meeting program.



History of Physiology DL - Jay DeanHistory of Physiology Lecture

Ohio State’s Fred A. Hitchcock: WW2 Explosive Decompression Pioneer, Cotranslator of Paul Bert’s La Pression Barometrique and Early Advocate of Manned Space Flight
Jay Dean, PhD
University of South Florida College of Medicine

Marion J Siegman - Hendrikus GranzierMarion J. Siegman Award Lecture

Titin: A Big Protein with Big Responsibilities
Henk L. Granzier, PhD
University of Arizona

Bowditch Romero 200x200Henry Pickering Bowditch Award Lecture

Cardiovascular Adjustments After Acute Heat Exposure: Mechanisms and Clinical Implications
Steven Romero, PhD
University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth

Cannon Matalon 200x200Walter B. Cannon Memorial Award Lecture

The Long Road to Ithaca: A Physiologist’s Journey
Sadis Matalon, PhD, FAPS
University of Alabama at Birmingham

Robert M. Berne DL - Brant IsaksonCardiovascular Section Robert M. Berne Distinguished Lecture

The Fascinating Pannexin Channels
Brant Isakson, PhD, FAPS
University of Virginia

Hugh Davson DL - Shey-Shing SheuCell & Molecular Physiology Section Hugh Davson Distinguished Lecture

Calcium, ATP, and ROS: A Mitochondrial Love-hate Triangle
Shey-Shing Sheu, PhD
Thomas Jefferson University

Joseph Erlanger DL - Kay TyeCentral Nervous Section Joseph Erlanger Distinguished Lecture

Neural Mechanisms of Social Homeostasis
Kay Tye, PhD
Salk Institute for Biological Studies

August Krogh DL - Martin GrosellComparative & Evolutionary Section August Krogh Distinguished Lecture

Integrative and Comparative Physiology Informs Global Biogeochemical Cycles
Martin Grosell, PhD
University of Miami

Solomon Berson DL - John SpeakmanEndocrinology & Metabolism Section Solomon A. Berson Distinguished Lecture

The Curious Effects of Very Low Protein Diets on Body Weight Regulation
John R. Speakman, PhD
University of Aberdeen

Edward F. Adolph DL - Mark HargreavesEnvironmental & Exercise Physiology Section Edward F. Adolph Distinguished Lecture

Exercise and GLUT4: From Milky Way to MEF2
Mark Hargreaves, PhD, FAPS
University of Melbourne

Horace W. Davenport DL - Declan McColeGastrointestinal & Liver Physiology Section Horace W. Davenport Distinguished Lecture

Phosphatase Regulation of the Intestinal Barrier in Health and Disease
Declan McCole, PhD
University of California Riverside

Carl Ludwig DL - Javier SternNeural Control & Autonomic Regulation Section Carl Ludwig Distinguished Lecture

Decoding the Tower of Babel in Autonomic Integration: Role of Brain Neuropeptides
Javier Stern, MD, PhD
Georgia State University

Carl W. Gottschalk DL - Gerardo GambaRenal Section Carl W. Gottschalk Distinguished Lecture

The Cross-talk Between the Calcium Sensing Receptor and the NaCl Cotransporter
Gerardo Gamba, MD, PhD, FAPS
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

Julius H. Comroe DL - Wolfgang KueblerRespiration Section Julius H. Comroe Jr. Distinguished Lecture

A Thin Line—The Pulmonary Endothelium in Health and Disease
Wolfgang Kuebler, MD, PhD, FAPS
Charité–Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Claude Bernard DL - Hwee Ming ChengTeaching of Physiology Section Claude Bernard Distinguished Lecture

The IMSPQ FellowSHIP - Around the World in 8000 Days
Hwee Ming Cheng, PhD
University of Malaya

Ernest H. Starling DL - Kate DentonWater & Electrolyte Homeostasis Section Ernest H. Starling Distinguished Lecture

Blood Pressure and the Kidney: How Structure and Function Come Together to Achieve Extracellular Fluid Balance
Kate Denton, PhD
Monash University


Summit Menu

Getting and Staying There
About the Summit
Industry Partners


Looking for 2024 Summit Information?