Science Policy Committee

PURPOSE: The Science Policy Committee (SPC) advocates for sound science policies at the federal level to advance the interests of physiological science and the broader scientific community.

MEETINGS: The committee meets twice annually. Meetings may be conducted either in-person or electronically.   


The SPC is composed of eight or more regular members of the Society and one graduate student trainee member. The chair of the Science Policy Committee serves one year as chair-elect, followed by a three-year term as chair and one year as past-chair. The SPC chair serves an ex-officio non-voting member of the Council, an ex officio, non-voting member of the Animal Care and Experimentation Committee. The chair of the Animal Care and Experimentation (ACE) Committee is an ex officio, non-voting member. The associate director of government relations and science policy serves as the staff liaison to the committee.

  • Bring relevant issues related to research funding, agency policies, and research ethics to the attention of Council and the membership. 
  • Develop and execute plans of action to address science policy issues that may impact physiologists.
  • Coordinate science policy interests and activities with the APS Sections.
  • Carry out other projects delegated by the Council.
  • Alternate with the Animal Care and Experimentation Committee in organizing the Public Affairs symposium at the APS annual meeting.
  • Coordinate activities with the FASEB Science Policy Committee (SPC). Coordinate activities with the APS ACE Committee.
  • Administer the Early Career Advocacy Fellowship.
  • Submit a written annual report to Council at their spring meeting, as part of the consent agenda, providing activities from the previous 12 months. The report will be due three weeks ahead of the meeting.

Committee Members

  • Katherine A Wilkinson, PhD
    San Jose State University

  • Amanda J LeBlanc, PhD
    University of Louisville

  • Anna E Stanhewicz, PhD
    The University of Iowa

  • Bill J Yates, PhD, FAPS
    Univ Pittsburgh Eye & Ear Inst

  • Daniel Eugene Michele, PhD
    University of Michigan

  • Eileen I Chang, PhD
    University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus

  • Erica A Dale, PhD
    University of Florida

  • Gaylen L Edwards, DVM, PhD
    Univ Georgia

  • James W Hicks, PhD, FAPS
    Univ California, Irvine

  • Julie A Bastarache, MD
    Vanderbilt Univ Sch of Med

  • Jyoti J Watters, PhD
    University of Wisconsin

  • David King, PhD
    The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
    Trainee Committee Member

  • Sonnet Sky Jonker, PhD
    Oregon Hlth Sci Univ
    Ex Officio