Section Advisory Committee

PURPOSE: The Section Advisory Committee (SAC): (1) provides oversight to the Society’s sections; (2) represent the interests of the sections within the Society’s governance structure; and (3) serve as a feedback mechanism from the sections to the council and executive director of the Society

MEETINGS: The committee meets twice annually, once at the annual meeting and once in the fall. Other work of the committee may be conducted electronically  


The Section Advisory Committee is composed of one regular member elected by each section of the Society, plus a chairperson. Each member shall serve a term of three years; consecutive terms are prohibited. The committee shall elect a chairperson to serve a three-year term. The chairperson shall serve on council as an ex officio member, with vote. The chair of the Joint Program Committee is an ex officio, non-voting member

  • Elect a chairperson, who is a member of the committee or has served on the committee within the past three years. (If a current committee member is elected, then a new section representative will be appointed.  
  • Review the Statements of Organization and Procedures of Sections and make recommendations to Council.
  • Assist the Joint Program Committee in the organization of scientific meetings.
  • Make recommendations to Council regarding how the sections might be used to further the goals of the Society with regard to programs, publication, public affairs, and governance.
  • Review procedures for the selection of sectional awards and recommend possible changes.
  • Review section budgets periodically . 
  • Periodically meet with Council in joint session.  
  • Assist Council in the strategic planning process and work with Council to implement the strategy plan through the work of the sections . 
  • Administer the Caroline tum Suden/Frances Hellebrandt Professional Opportunity Awards in accordance with procedures established by Council.
  • Select the Steven Horvath and the Fleur Strand Professional Opportunity Award winners from the pool for the tum Suden/Hellebrandt Awards.
  • Submit a written annual report to Council at their spring meeting, as part of the consent agenda, providing activities from the previous 12 months. The report will be due three weeks ahead of the meeting.

Committee Members

  • Scott D Kirkton, PhD
    Union College

  • Damian G Romero, PhD
    University of Mississippi Medical Center
    Endocrinology & Metabolism Section

  • David C Poole, DSc, PhD
    Kansas State University
    Environmental & Exercise Section

  • Farah Sheikh, PhD
    University of California, San Diego
    Cardiovascular Section

  • Janice H. Urban, PhD
    Rosalind Franklin Univ Med & Sci
    Central Nervous System Section

  • Kamal Rahmouni, PhD
    University of Iowa
    Neural Control & Autonomic Regulation Section

  • Kathryn Sandberg, PhD
    Georgetown Univ.
    Water & Electrolyte Homeostasis Section

  • Katie Susan Hering-Smith, MS, PhD
    Tulane Univ Hlth Sci Ctr
    Renal Section

  • Lynn Hartzler, PhD
    Wright State University
    Comparative & Evolutionary Physiology Section

  • Melissa L Bates, PhD
    University of Iowa
    Respiration Section

  • Patricia A Halpin, PhD
    University of New Hampshire at Manchester
    Teaching Section

  • Pradeep K Dudeja, PhD
    University of Illinois at Chicago
    Gastrointestinal & Liver Section

  • Sandrine V Pierre, PhD
    Cell & Molecular Physiology Section